#30June: I’m busy going back in time!

Back in 2010, Mohamed Bouazizi ignited the first spark of the Arab spring when he set himself on fire in protest of police corruption and ill treatment.

Mohamed Bouazizi

I remember watching the news and then noticing how some fellow Egyptians decided that enough was enough. See, Egypt has been going through a lot for the past 30 years and the recent murder of Khaled Said due to police brutality was the breaking point. Followed by the bombing of the Saints Church in Alexandria on new years eve which was obviously an inside job by the government. Nonetheless, the Egyptians were determined to say “enough”! Calls for peaceful demonstrations were spread all over with the aid of Facebook and Twitter and the rest is what we all know as the 25th of January: the Egyptian revolution. I must say that 2011 was one of the best years of my life. Regardless of the amount of pain I went through watching and spreading news of martyrs in Egypt, Libya, Yemen, Syria and Bahrain; I learned a lot. I met a lot of wonderful people, fought along with many revolutionaries, organised protests, signed petitions, been on BBC (phone call.. I’m still not THAT famous!), and even a couple of years later, I still have people tell me that I was pretty known for my online activism during the revolutions and that everyone knew where to head for news. A couple of friends and I wanted to help and we set a crisis map to spread urgent calls for help and reports about missing people, needed and available aid and such. The spirit was high and it was my calling. I lived for the revolutions and the people and any dictator was my target.

Today, 2 and a half years later, things seemed pretty bad. Syria is dying, Bahrain’s revolution was smothered by false claims and the people were silenced (watch this wonderful documentary) and Egypt was still struggling.. my efforts were going in vain and the people who once feared to take a stand are now struggling with their past decisions and wishing they stood up for the people. Most of my Syrian friends who once asked me to keep my mouth shut are now activists! I was shunned for standing up for others’ rights and the reason was “stability”. But when the same person accusing me of being the reason behind all the rumors lost their homes and even their loved ones, I was finally right. But I lost my drive and preferred to defend individuals one at a time. This was still my calling and I wouldn’t ever fail a fellow human being regardless.

Throughout the past couple of years, Egypt was struggling as I said. SCAF and the police and now the Muslim brotherhood. All the promises of reform and justice to the fallen martyrs were demolished. Egypt was becoming more corrupt and now, anyone opposing the president is an infidel. Everything the people fought for during 25Jan was not being accomplished and Egypt is now heading to the dark ages!

But not today. Today marks the new Egyptian revolution and I.. I am living it and loving it.🙂 The people are finally united against injustice and tyranny. Those who yesterday accused the 25Jan revolutionaries of being traitors and agents of Israel and Hamas are now hand in hand with the rest of the people. Even the police are in! People finally realized that you can’t be neutral towards injustice and sooner or later, your turn will come and you will have to take a stand.

I am however skeptical. Those who yesterday killed their brothers are now with them. Nonetheless, I have faith. I have faith that this will be a lesson to many of those and hopefully, Egypt will get what it truly deserves. The people will always make sure of that.🙂 I’ll leave you with some pics of the Egyptian revolution, take 2!

alex.1jpg

Protests in Alexandria

tahrir2

A panorama of Tahrir square

with Islam

With Islam, against the Muslim Brotherhood

Egyptian flag

Egyptian flag

tahrir1

Tahrir square

minia

Protesters in Minya, upper Egypt

march

March to Etihadiya palace

alex

Protest in Alexandria

tahrir

Tahrir square

australia

Egyptians in Australia

paris

Egyptians in Paris

Port Said

Port Said

Leave, Morsi!

Leave, Morsi!

Egyptians in front of The White House

Egyptians in front of The White House

Doctors in Egypt are in

Doctors in Egypt are in

Egyptians in Washington

Egyptians in Washington

Egyptians in London

Egyptians in London

Heliopolis revolting!

Heliopolis revolting!

Beautiful pic from Tahrir

Beautiful pic from Tahrir

Egyptian ladies holding shoes!

Egyptian ladies holding shoes!

Egyptians in Vienna

Egyptians in Vienna

Old lady marching

Old lady marching

Protesters on their way

Protesters on their way

Etihadya palace!

Etihadya palace!

Power to the women of Egypt!

Power to the women of Egypt!

This is EGYPT!

This is EGYPT!

This should be the next cover of Time!

And it’s time to GO.

ارحــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــــل

 

PS: many thanks to the lovely people of planet Twitter for the images.🙂

4 thoughts on “#30June: I’m busy going back in time!

Say something nice or leave. Butthurt is intolerable yet I welcome positive criticism.

